What if you never verify?

I have been buying PSN cards from Gameflip now for over 6 months and now all of a sudden I’m being told I need to verify my identity and payments. I tried to go through the process to verify a credit card. It specifically asked for a photo of the front and back of my credit card with the all but the last 4 numbers blocked. It did not ask for anything else. So I submitted the photos of the front and back of my card and waited almost a full day only to receive a rejection notification because I did not also include a “selfie” with the credit card. No where in the instructions did it request that or else I would not have bothered.

There is ZERO reason why you would need a photo of me for an online transaction. Asking for me to submit a picture of my government issued photo ID for identity verification is an extremely shady business practice, because I don’t care how great you think your encryption is, this is how identity theft occurs.

So my question is, should I choose not to submit this information to my profile, will I still be able to make purchases with Gameflip? Right now I have two purchases “Under Review”. One was made using my credit card that has now been “Under Review” for over 24 hours. The other purchase I used my Paypal account hoping that wouldn’t be an issue, but it’s been “Under Review” for almost 12 hours now as well.

Is this a case where I just need to look elsewhere for buying PSN cards?

You can block out some of the information on your ID if you wish to do that. I think it really just needs your name, expiration, DOB. Of which I just blocked out the last number of the year for my DOB and it got accepted. If you aren’t comfortable doing that, unfortunately I think you will still get tagged for suspicious activity and the items will go under review. Even when completely verified, occasionally my purchases will go under review. Just depends how much you buy.