Amazon GC discounts too good to be true?

Hi, everyone, novice here, but no novice altogether - let’s say … sent me last year $25 coupon for being with them for 25 years

My question is about Amazon giftcard discounts available here: 14-16%, sometimes even up to 20%

Such discounts are tempting and not available elsewhere, so please explain me how’s that possible and why it don’t fall into “too good to be true” category

I did some homework: checked the feedback for a few top sellers, and they’re mostly good

I also searched forums and found dozens problematic Amazon GC cases, most of buyers got awarded with Amazon suspension too. It seems that defrauded buyers can dispute and get refunds here, but…

My main concern with buying discounted Amazon cards is Amazon itself - they confiscate funds and suspend/close accounts at whim, there is no recourse for refund other than suing them, and once you have your account suspended you’re not guaranteed to salvage it.

Basically the single gift card Amazon deems fraudulent might be enough

Sorry for the long first post, I want to be a buyer here, but DD comes first

Not sure what’s the problem but if you use an Amazon GC to buy a GC, your balance will get hold and as you said the account suspended.

1 Like

Not exactly.

On Amazon you simply can’t pay for Amazon GC with another Amazon GC - such payment option simply not displayed; the same applies to financial cards such as Visa, Amex, Mastercard

However they allow you to pay the certain third-party cards with Amazon gift card, that’s not an issue.

The issue is if you pay for ANYTHING on Amazon with a “bad” card - Amazon will confiscate your entire Amazon balance, cancel all orders not shipped yet and suspend your account indefinitely (it might be perma-ban)

“Bad” payment might be a stolen credit card, or the Amazon gift card found fraudulent - for example disputed as stolen by someone else. They will even go after you if card is disputed a few months after you used it.