Buyer scammed me for Giftcards

Hey, this is my first time here, but I had recently sold my first Steam Giftcard to a buyer who had pretty good rating. He purchased my giftcard and all went well until he opened a dispute telling me to cancel the order as apparently AUD steam gift cards did not work on US servers. He also sent me a screenshot saying that the code has been redeemed (which i reckon he redeemed it already as the giftcard had been recently scratched) I myself am not a gamer and I didnt know how Steam works so I cancelled it apologizing to him. I only wanted to sell the one giftcard that I got as a birthday gift. After some research it turned out that AUD cards do work internationally, so now I am very disappointed and regretful.

Do you guys think I’ll be able to get the money that he owes me. Ive recently requested support from gameflip so I’m still waiting? Any suggestions? Thank you

My Page/Profile: VY8TX3 https://gameflip.com/profile/us-east-1:27e46625-9c64-46ce-b9f0-657817d85a4d
Buyer/Scammer Profile: https://gameflip.com/profile/us-east-1:86c0dc3e-a87f-48ec-9e06-a7d18f4e57a8

Now i’m waiting on support from Steam and Gamefilp. I will update ASAP

Contact Steam Support and have them look into the details of the card. They should be able to tell you when it was redeemed, the time and the general location. Make sure you explain to them your situation and tell them it is for a case so they will be more willing to provide you with details information. You shouldn’t have cancelled the transaction and contact Gameflip right away. Since you released the money back to him, there isn’t much that can be done, but if it is proven that he did use it and claimed it didn’t work, he is a scammer and will be suspended.

While you wait for a Gameflip moderator to review your situation, please provide your invite code, found on your profile page, so that it expedites this process and they can locate your account right away.

1 Like